middle school? only if i have to.

Today I am grateful for: the opportunity to teach the grade level I MOST adore.

mileage: 3 treadmill miles, 43 minutes and 1 hour of yoga

I thought of this today as I was completing my application to add a Supplemental Authorization to my teaching credential. It will allow me to teach 7-9th grade English. I learned in April that I was eligible for this addition certification due to the numerous units I had in English Literature courses from my college days. Suh-weet! Well, as long as I don’t have to teach middle school.

Don’t get me wrong; I am absolutely thankful to have a job at all! Even if it had to be a crazy crowded, freshman English course with 40+ students! I wouldn’t be ecstatic about the situation, but you better believe I would make the best of it.

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock for the past couple of years, you must know how unbelievibly crappy the job security in education is. Here I am, in my sixth year of teaching, hoping and praying I don’t get pink slipped in 2011. At least this additional credential will give me an opportunity to teach SOMETHING if I happen to be put into that situation.

So just in case…middle school, I can totally be ready for you! 🙂 But only if I must.

3 thoughts on “middle school? only if i have to.

  1. Are you still doing 1st grade Mel? Glad you can at least have a backup plan if they do this again and I HOPE that they don’t do it to YOU again. 😉

Leave a Reply

