to spin or not to spin

Today I am grateful for: a fitness instructor who doesn’t call you out for being lame. šŸ˜›

workout: 50 minute spin class, 60 minute yoga, 30 minute pilates. yea, cuh-razy.

I tried a spinning class today. I’ve been intrigued by the whole things for a while, and I’ve wanted to try it out. The thing that has stopped me is that I wasn’t sure I could finish a class. Every time I walk by the cycling room, I see people huffing, puffing, and dripping in sweat. I wasn’t sure if I was cut out for the class. But last week, when I was talking to my yoga instructor at my gym, I mentioned to her that I was going to be taking more of the daytime yoga classes, what with being off and all. So she says, “Does that mean you’ll try spinning on this break?” My first thought was, “Damn, she remembered that I said I was kinda interested last time I was off.” I figured, what the heck. If she is teaching the class, I’ll do it. What I love about her is that she always starts off classes by saying that we honorour bodies and that there is no competition. So I knew if I couldn’t keep up with everyone in spin, she wouldn’t call me out on it.

I tried it…and I LOVE it. It was such a rush!! Don’t get me wrong, my butt will hate me in the morning. But man, oh man, you better believe I’ll go back. Yay for trying new things!! It was a great workout and I had so much energy after the class. The best part is that NO ONE knows if you are really changing the tension on your bike or now! I tried to keep up with everyone else, but at one point, my legs felt like they were going to fall off, so I just pretended to turn the tension knob. Is that cheating?? šŸ˜‰

Now I’m off to Walnut Creek to watch my darling friend try on wedding dresses! Oh…and to look for bridesmaid dresses. Woohoo!

2 thoughts on “to spin or not to spin

Leave a Reply

