mint cookie heaven

Today, I am grateful for: the yumminess called Andes Mints.

yummy in my tummy!

I might not be the best cook in the world (although, I am learning!), but I can bake pretty well. What can I say, I love following directions! I have a  MAJOR sweet tooth. I know it’s not at all healthy to consume so much sugary goodness, but hey, that’s what my workouts are for, right??

I decided to try a new cookie recipe this morning: Chocolate Andes Mint Cookies. I love chocolate, and I adore Andes mints, especially during the holidays. So putting the two together was genious! I can’t say I came up with the idea. Bubba’s co-worker’s wife makes some bomb cookies, and he said this is one that they love at the office. They did come out pretty yummy, if I do say so myself. 🙂

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 (4.5 ounce) packages chocolate covered thin mints

Directions:

  1. In a large pan over low heat, cook butter, sugar and water until butter is melted. Add chocolate chips and stir until partially melted. Remove from heat and continue to stir until chocolate is completely melted. Pour into a large bowl and let stand 10 minutes to cool off slightly.
  2. At high speed, beat in eggs, one at a time into chocolate mixture. Reduce speed to low and add dry ingredients, beating until blended. Chill dough about 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4. Roll dough into balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake 8-10 minutes. While cookies are baking unwrap mints and divide each in half.
    When cookies are brought out of the oven, put 1/2 mint on top of each cookie.
  5. Let the mint sit for up to 5 minutes until melted, then spread the mint on top of the cookie. Eat and enjoy!

Man, I’m totally going to need to run 10 miles now. After eating like a pig cruising for 7 days, I could use some cardio. But I need to kick this cold before I go back into workout mode. I attempted to continue workouts on the ship (goodness knows I did enough walking the entire trip!), but yoga is really difficult to do on a moving ship. Yes, I actually did it; and I fell. A couple of times. Thank goodness I wasn’t the only one! Ha, ha!

Leave a Reply

