disney vacay part 1

Today, I am grateful for: early shopping hours. I finished all my shopping today before noon! And the stores weren’t even that busy. Thank goodness for early holiday hours!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We’ve been back for a week now, so I suppose it’s time I tell ya’ll about our awesome trip. We are Disney Vacation Club members, so every year we have vacation points that we can either use for that year or bank for the following year. We had some points from 2 years ago that had to be used by the end of this year, so we used our points to book a 7 day Disney cruise to the Caribbean. But before we left on the curise, we spent a day at the Magic Kingdom. 

@ saratoga springs resort

We arrived in Florida on Friday morning, and we checked into our room to drop off our stuff and rest a bit. Then, we headed to the Magic Kingdom for Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party. This is when they close the park down at 7 for only those people who have MVMCP tickets (the park was open until midnight for us). Most of the rides are still open, but there are also hot chocolate and cookie stations everywhere and character greetings. During this party, there are also special holiday parades and fireworks. We did this in 2008 when we came out for the honeymoon; but we decided to do it again since we were there and it was a cheaper way to get our Magic Kingdom fix for the few hours that we wanted.

We stopped our cookie break to say hello to Lilo and Stitch.

We rode a few rides too! Here we are on the People Mover. I wish we had this at Disneyland. It’s the most simple ride, but I love being able to go through the back of Space Mountain. Bubba and I enjoyed our easy going night. Well…kinda… Haha, this picture makes me giggle!

We sat on the curb to watch the holiday parade. It’s the same parade that they show for Disney’s Christmas Day televised thingie. But the thing that you don’t experience on t.v. that you can by seeing this parade in person is the SMELL. You read me right! The parade floats let off wonderful smells of the season!! Gingerbread, sugar cookies, candy and more! It’s so fun.

The next day, we left for our cruise! I was so excited! We stopped to take some pics before we left Saratoga Springs.

Then, we took a Disney Cruise Line bus to Port Canaveral. It was about an hour or so of a ride, so I’m glad we got big, comfy buses. I think I fell asleep on the way there. Once we arrived at the port, we checked in and walked on!

hmm...is that what I would look like with short hair?

Since we have cruised with DCL before, we got some cool gifts in our room upon arrival! I have to admit, the rice krispie treat things were NOT yummy. But the bag and the water bottles sure did come in handy! We used them a lot during our trip. Here’s what our stateroom looked like:

check out my stylish sea bands! better those than getting sick.

It was actually pretty roomy!! Bubba thinks that next time, we can probably book a room without a window (it didn’t open anyway). I guess the inside staterooms are a lot cheaper. Excuse my Bubba; he get’s comfy right away!
Once we were on the ship, we decided to walk around and check it out. We headed to the pool deck for the Sail Away Party. And, I had to have my fru-fru drink!!

We didn’t get our bags until a few hours later, but we packed a small carry on with our tolietries and our bathing suits, so we suited up and went to lay by the pool. We grabbed some lunch and set ourselves up poolside until it got cool. It was a pretty relaxing first day! And we got to watch the awesome sunset: Oh, and I can’t forget the towel animals! The next 2 days were pretty much the same, since we were at sea. We relaxed by the pool and napped by day, then we caught some shows, had dinner with our group, and went to the bar at night. Bubba really enjoyed watching the live bands at the bars! Maybe I can get him to come out to Harlow’s with me now that we are home. 🙂

Ok, this post has become MUCH longer than I anticipated, so I’m ending it here. The three of you reading this are probably falling asleep at your computers! 😛 BUT keep your eyes out for part 2: our ports of call in St. Maarten, St. Thomas, and Castaway Cay!

Leave a Reply

